Friday, February 14, 2014

Kiss & Cry, Spica and Ladies' Code

I decided to write an article about three girl groups that grabbed my attention with their debut songs or with their long awaited comeback. So let's start.

KISS & CRY

Kiss & Cry made their debut on January with the song Domino Game. I must say that I was pleasant surprised. The song has a latin - pop sound and combined with the girls' amazing vocals it can be very addicted to listen to. The girls are able to show their vocal ability and their dance skills. The choreography is very well made. I really like the clock move at the beginning and the dance break near the end. Although they are rookies, Dia participated in the making of the song and that shows that this group has some more skills to show. The mv is simple. We get screen shots of the girls and we see parts of the choreography as well. I think the outfits suit really well with song. The black, leather and the white-yellow-blue outfits are by far the best! Kiss & Cry sunbaes is Mr.Mr. I must take the chance to say here that all Mr.Mr songs are great and very easy and nice to listen to. Just listen to Highway and Do you feel me and you will understand. Their agency seems to produce very nice songs and that also happens in the case of Kiss & Cry. So I will definitely keep an eye on them and hope to make an awesome comeback as their debut was. They have the potential to be a top girl group in the future.
P.S. I will make another suggestion here. What if their fan club name was Kiss & Tell? It seems good, isn't it?



SPICA

What to say about Spica. One of the most talented girl group in the K-pop scene. I mean those vocals *-*. Spica made their return with the digiteal single You Don't Love Me and managed to steal the spotlight. The crowd, in addition to their song, show them that they love them so much that they almost had the chance to win on a music show! Although they didn't win ( let's congratulate AOA here ) I'm sure just being nominated meant a lot to them. Spica were one of the most underestimated girl groups. You would thought that with their looks and most important vocals, they would easily be a top girl group but that wasn't the case. Luckily with the help of Lee Hyori who changed their image and pointed their music style in another direction, without loosing their identity though, Spica got finally recognized. You Don't Love Me is a retro - jazz song which captivates you from the start. The mv is very funny with retro elements and vintage style so we can all say that this look totally fits perfect on Spica.



LADIES CODE

This girl group is gonna go far. Very far. They have managed to catch really high spots on music shows, especially with their previous single Pretty Pretty. Now they returned with another great song called So Wonderful. The teaser kinda scared me though. Wrapped up in plastic and be a mannequin wihtout arms and legs..talked about creepiness. The girls look so pretty and mature in their dresses and their new hairstyle fits them well. I thing Sujong looks great as a brunette. Not that blonde wasn't good on her but still : P
Anyway I don't really understand the mv. The girls are mannequins and a guy is looking at them closely because she wants to combine the best of each girl characteristics in order to create the perfect girl? But in the end he is a mannequin too? I'm sorry I don't really understand it. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong : )
Although I didn't understand the plot, the mv is awesome and the girls as well. I really like that the girls use michrophones as a part of the choreograohy. So laverns support Ladies' Code so that they can be even higher on music shows and why not winning as well.



I think 2014 is the rookie year so let's keep it that way and let's help rookie groups to shine even more!

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Got 7 minutes to know them?


When you think about JYP the first thing that comes to your mind is 2pm, MissA, 2am, Wonder Girls and perhaps their new artists Baek Ah Yeon, 15& and Sunmi ( former Wonder Girls' member ). Another thing that also comes to your mind is the famous 'half air - half sound' phrase and of course the 'JYP'~ whisper.
Back to being serious now, JYP had debuted in 2012 a very promising duo boy group called JJ Project. JJ Project made a fuzz around their name probably because of their hit debut song Bounce. But that was it. Apart from their debut song they didn't release any other single, mini album or digital single. Many fans were curious about what was going to happen because in 2013 there weren't any JJ Project promotions. There were many speculations that JJ Project was just that - a project - to see if they will do well or not. And because they did very good, the two JJ Project's members, JB and Jr., are now in a new JYP boy group who goes by the name Got7.
I must say that Got7 is probably one of the most anticipating rookie groups of 2014. ( Another boy group is YG's Winner but I'm gonna write about them when they will make their official debut ). Got7 are being introduced as an acrobatic - hip hop boy group and I couldn't agree more. All you have to do is to see any performances they did on any Music Show you want and you will agree too. 
Their debut song is perfect. I think I wasn't the only one that shook her head up and down when the music video started. Seriously now those skater - scooter - I - don't - know - how - to - call - them are brilliant. Who wouldn't like to wonder around the city like this? The plot of the mv is simple. 7 regular high school boys have a secret : They are Idols after school and thus when their handphones rang, well, they have to go their busy schedule really quick. But instaed of going to practice ( maybe ? ) they go in another secret place located in an mysterious store. At this point we have to send a thank you card to the girl that followed them because one of the boys - Idols, dropped accidentally his bracelet. But besides that I don't think that the girl wouldn't follow them if she hadn't found that bracelet. They are handsome so that's a good reason too. 
Anyway back to the mv, the girl enters the secret place where she finds the boys just playing around and talking. Suddenly the music starts and we get to see an amazing choreography. The boys are really talented. I don't know what JYP told or gave them but those moves are Fantastic Baby! ( the YG references are not intentional ). I think the curl-your-fingers and the point-your-shoulder moves will be really polular. Also that slow motion cartwheel followed by two high jumps *-* No comment. I applaud you. I also like that when they dance, the camera splits into two and you get to see some other action besides the dance. A nice twist JYP. You totally GOT me. See what I just did there ? : P
To sum up, both the song and the mv are great and Got7 has potential to be the next big boy group. No wonder they have already made 10 advertisement deals.
P.S. I recommend the fan club's name to be : Lucky7. 


Monday, January 6, 2014

TVXQ and Rain kick off 2014

Happy New Year Everyone! 새해 복 많이 받으세요! I hope everyone will have a great year in 2014 and what's the best way to spend this year rather than listening to K-pop and watching your favorite K-Dramas and movies? : D Well talking and writing most about K-pop here, it seems that 2014 has started really good bacause two big names made their return! I'm talking about TVXQ and Rain of course!

Rain has been really busy after been released from the army but I don't think he has any problem with that. First off he left J.Tune Camp and joined Cube Entertainment, he appears on Mnet's variety show Rain Effect and, yes, you guessed right he made his comeback with the release of his new album which is also named  Rain Effect. About his music comeback Rain decided to release two video clips rather that just one because hmm well two are always better than one right? Both songs have a different feeling. LA Song is a back to the classic-90's hip hop song with great instrumental and a addicted chorus lalalalalala~~~ 
30Sexy is a modern pop song which propably make you move your body like Rain does. I don't know if he made the choreography but I really like it. It seems like something that only Rain can make it work. It has this whole groovy smoothy you know feeling ( 느김 아니까! ). If I have to pick one I will definitely choose 30Sexy. The only thing you have to do is watch both music videos and decide which one is your favorite. Maybe both! But I'm gonna post here my favorite.


                                                                         


Now who wasn't excited about their return? Ever since their teaser jacket photos and video promos they had Cassioppeias jumping up and down, playing with our emotions until their comeback and now they are finally here! *clap clap * 
Different from their previous hit songs Catch Me and Humanoids, Something has a jazz vibe all over it but that isn't SOMETHING that TVXQ can't handle ( see what I did there? ). The mv is just playing awesome and the boys are full with charisma as they sing and dance with so much confidence. Seriously is there anything that they can't do? They can try all music themes and genders and still be great! About the mv is also different with lots of girls around the boys, band members and dancers and an outstanding set. Lights, set, wardrobe, song and the choreography are amazing. My favorite part is the beginning when they use the strings to play the bass (?) - sorry I don't know - totally smart move! And also how about the dance solo that Yunho and Changmin have in the middle of the song? Genius! Althoug I haven't still listen to their album, I know it's gonna be phenomenon! And the reason why it's simple : It's TVXQ 10th Anniversary! 축하합니다! and I'm pretty sure that their album will be the best present this year!



Well that's it for now. Stick around as many other K-pop Idols will make their return or their debut!

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Day By Day learn MyName

Although in October many groups or soloists have made their comebacks and with much more to come, I decided to write about MyName because everytime they return to the music scene they never dissappoint their fans who go by the name MyGirl. In every comeback they show great music, dance and vocal skills and they do it again by releasing their 3rd single album.
This time around the boys decided to show a more mature side and forget the pain they caused to their fans with their previous song 'Baby I'm Sorry'. ( I know I'm off topic now but who didn't cry by watching the mv? ). Anyway I must say that they own this style too because they have the talent and the vocals to try different music genres. The title song 'Day By Day' is a mid tempo ballad and in their single album all the songs follow this pattern too. So if you are in a-listening-only-ballads-mood well their album is what you are looking for. At that point I have to say that Lee Hyun Do also participated in the title track by doing an exceptional rap at the beginning of the song.
The mv goes along with the song. I ike that the mv was filmed in a studio because the boys do their best in it. I mean the members with their actions and expressions show their pain and although they appear in the same set together, they not really are. They don't interract with each other because every member is there in different time and we can only see some interaction between the member and themselves, like JunQ when he is in a rap batlle with himself or in the case of InSoo. In the mv we also see some reverse scenes mostly during SeYong's cuts. It wouldn't be alright if I didn't write about their clothing which is incredible. The boys look extremely handsome wearing suits and sweaters, shirts, ties in grey tones, getting the whole grow and mature vibe. They don't only sound mature, they also look mature.



The thing that it might captures you the most is their fantastic choreography. Let me say here that all of MyName's previously songs ( Message, Hello and Goodbye, Just That Little Thing ) have amazing choreographies, able to show each song points and the members great dancing skills. The mv shows some parts of the choreography but it's even better if you see it in a music show. In that case you will be able to see that InSoo and JunQ have their own individual parts - InSoo showcasing his moves and JunQ his rap - but also the clear and amazing movements that fit the song perfectly. I find the end, where they are on their knees, the perfect ending. 
Check both the mv and the music show and support MyName Day By Day ( or everyday ).






Saturday, October 5, 2013

Did you miss Tiny - G?

Tiny-G the four cute, small but noticeable girls are back with a totally different style that we were used to see them before. This time for their new single 'Miss You' they decided to become more mature and sexy and to forget their previous cute style. But from the image you see above perhaps you don't picture this in your head when you think sexy, right? So I say you have to check the mv first!
In the mv the girls manage to look sexy without overdoing it. I mean they are still too young to be over sexy so this style is the best for them. Besides they have the time and the chances to show different styles in the future so what's the hurry? Anyway in the mv we don't see any storyline but rather beautiful sets, close up scenes of the girls and the choreography of the song. The outcome is really great since they wore beautiful outfits that fit the song and the sets. When the girls wear black shirt-dresses with high socks the scenery becomes a modern black studio and when they decide to play with colors, prints and patterns the studio fits this profile too. It's a win win situation. In the song the girls say out loud that they like a guy who ignores them no matter what they say or do but instead of being mad about it they say that they miss him and that will make him feel the same way too. Talk about girls' power here! The choreography and the song are very catchy and ear pleaseant. The chorus is very addicting and propably you will catch yourself doing the 'mini fists' and the 'I wanna kiss you' moves too. Don't be shy about it and just embrace it with the other movements you have.
So hurry up and check the mv!